As many of you know, James Rollins is one of my (and my wife’s) favorite authors. He’s written fast-paced, action-packed thrillers like Amazonia, Sandstorm, and more, and he has a great series of novels featuring his Sigma Force (a militarized branch of DARPA).

Above all, James Rollins writes in a style that is fast and easily understood. I’ve tried to incorporate his use of style and verbiage into my own writing, and you can decide for yourself how well I’ve done by checking out my new thriller, The Golden Crystal, here. If you’re looking for books like James Rollins,’ this list is for you! James Rollins’ thrillers are similar in style to authors like Steve Berry, Clive Cussler, Dan Brown, Matt Reilly, and James Patterson, as well as lesser-known (but just as awesome) writers of great thrillers like J.A. Konrath, Barry Eisler, and Jeremy Robinson.

I started reading at a young age, and I owe my “career” (if you can call it that…) as a writer of thrillers to these awesome authors. From the moment I picked up The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown my senior year of high school, and then Sandstorm by James Rollins as a young lifeguard in San Antonio (I promise I was watching the pool…), I became infatuated with thrillers, fast fiction, and great stories. My dad and grandfather were both readers, and always had the latest bestseller in the house. When Amazon.com launched and took the internet by storm, the “problem” of having too many books in my childhood house was exacerbated, and I was quickly taught to purchase books as fast and as often as I desired. Now, almost ten years later, my wife has all but stifled my “book-buying frenzy,” but I’m still a self-declared “thriller addict.” This list is just an example of what I’ve read and recommend, but I’ll try to continue updating it as often as I can!

Again, if you have an interest in high-octane thrillers, fast-paced fiction, and just-plain-awesome scientifically-driven novels, do yourself a favor and check out this list on Amazon that I’ve created. It’s a solid list of great reads, and I’m sure you’ll find something on it that you’ll like! Leave a message in the comments with your own recommendations, and I’ll be sure to check them out!